Ahhh, The Fecundity

EarthBox Container Garden

Assembled EarthBoxes Sans Mulch Covers

At 9pm on a Friday night when many single ladies are out partying, I’m home planting. Why? Not because I’m unpopular (at least I don’t think I am), but because I’ve decided to undertake an endeavor in container gardening – specifically an experiment in “EarthBoxing”.

Why? Because I like to cook and eat healthy food, and buying organic is expensive. Plus, I like to watch things grow, become established, and produce. For me, it’s meditative, rewarding, and a constant reminder of the delicate state that exists between life and death. And too, ever since I was a little girl, I’ve enjoyed digging in the dirt.

The fact is I come from a long line of green-thumbed people. My mother (henceforth referred to as Mum) is from England, where she grew up on a bucolic sheep farm estate . (The sheep were raised for their wool, not flesh.) Mum’s old photographs contain scenes of lavish gardens and peaceful conservatories overflowing with flowers. Although she lives with my Dad in TN now, she still maintains a prolific English garden almost year round.

My father always planted a large garden at the home where I grew up in CT, as well as, many varieties of fruit trees. In fact, one of my fondest memories of childhood was mowing the lawn with my Dad’s Cub Cadet riding mower. (Okay, so maybe I was a little unpopular as a child.) Every time I drove past the peach trees, heavy laden with fruit, I grabbed a peach and gobbled it up before the next lap was over. Thankfully, garden fresh fruits and vegetables were the mainstay of our diets up North in the Summer months.

So, what do I hope to accomplish with this experiment? This endeavor in “EarthBoxing”? I hope to grow things, of course. And, according to the folks at EarthBox, I’ll be able to “G-R-O-W…Grow, Grow, Grow!” They go on to say, “That’s exactly what your plants will do in an EarthBox®! Poor soil conditions and small backyards are no match for the EarthBox®. Now it’s easy to garden anywhere–even on balconies, porches, and rooftops! Anyone can enjoy delicious homegrown veggies, fruits, and herbs grown in an EarthBox®. A sustainable product that uses less water and fertilizer, the EarthBox® will grow bigger and tastier plants faster than a conventional garden–with virtually no effort and zero guesswork! Great results, no matter what color your thumb is.”

Since I live in an apartment, the EarthBox container gardening method seemed the most viable. So, I bought four of them. I did some research as to what grows where I live at this time of year (Birmingham, AL or zone 7) and decided to order two pink seedless grapevines, a dwarf tophat blueberry bush, a few jalapeno plants, a couple of roma tomato plants, and one last type of plant, the identity of which I will disclose in a future post.

I read about the various types of recommended growing media and decided to go with the most readily available. After all, a working single Mom of two active boys doesn’t have time to be running all over town looking for growing media. I ended up purchasing Miracle Gro Organic at my local Target store.

Gurney’s only ships the plants that are ready to be shipped, and I’ve only received the pink seedless grapevines to date. Because they are considered a “tree” (more like a stick) I had to soak the roots for a couple of hours before planting. I filled two EarthBoxes with growing media, as well as, the 7-7-7 fertilizer that came with the EarthBox watering system.

This is where I need your help.

Does anyone even know if I can grow a grapevine in an EarthBox?

A good friend of mine, Dewey, who’s an avid gardener, says no. Gurney’s description doesn’t say either way.  As is my normal way of approaching life, I decided to go for it. One reason is I like to live on the edge. Another is I want to make my own wine. Ultimately, failure is not an option.

If you know the answer to this question, please do leave a comment. And, I thank you in advance.

I hope you’ll come back to read more as I pursue this endeavor in “EarthBoxing”. You’ll at least have to stay tuned to find out what the mystery plant is. I think you’ll be very surprised.

And, no… It’s nothing illegal.

To Mother Earth,

 

1 Comment »

  1. n4cer1 said

    Grapes in an Earthbox… you’re in luck.

    A post in this thread on the Earthbox forums claims it’s possible, and that muscadines are easiest. Unfortunately, there’s no more detail than the assertion itself.

    Muscadines also grow well in Alabama. I know this because I Binged it a couple months ago while reading the label on some wine I was drinking that came from an Alabama vineyard, and wondering WTH is a muscadine. 😉

    http://forum.earthbox.com/index.php?topic=1870.msg13979

    Also, this thread contains a link to a post from a Texas A&M horticulturist which may be of some help:
    http://forum.earthbox.com/index.php?topic=1257.0;prev_next=next

    Direct link to the Texas A&M post:
    http://aggie-horticulture.tamu.edu/extension/homefruit/grapearbors/grape.html

    May your blogging and gardening endeavors be fruitful.
    Here’s to success. 🙂

RSS feed for comments on this post · TrackBack URI

Leave a Reply

