The Librarian Who Couldn’t Read

There once was a librarian who couldn’t read. And, because she couldn’t read she made an egregious  error – not once, or twice, but three times. Me thinks she couldn’t see the forest for the trees, poor thing. What I do know is this. She owes Gurney’s a HUGE thank you for being so great about replacing the grape and stevia that bit the dirt. And, she should thank her lucky stars that there are any signs of life on her balcony at all.

I’m not beating myself up [as I’ve already forgiven myself] for my major faux pas, but I really am lucky. I planted the plants directly in the fertilizer! I know better than that! What’s worse is I experienced that same brain fart not once, but thrice. I know! It was the euphoria of EarthBox container gardening that got to me. I really do think so.

The last steps when setting up your container garden are to 1) plant the plants and 2) add the last batch of moist growing media, creating a 2-inch mound on the top of the box. Before you plant the plants, you have to decide where to put the fertilizer. I followed the directions and placed it as pictured on the EarthBox diagram – in a trough straight down the center.  It wasn’t until I planted the tomato and pepper plants that I realized my mistake. Since they are smaller and there are more of them, it’s okay to put the fertilizer down the middle because the plants go around the edges of the box. For the first three boxes, I planted the plants straight on top of the fertilizer trough, which had been filled in with a dirt. But still — OUCH. And, I can’t blame the instructions. They were fine.

No wonder “The Stick” of grape springest forth no life,  and the puny, half dead stevia plant bit the dirt altogether. Turns out, most likely, the dirt bit the plant. So, Gurney’s, thank you for your patience and understanding as I get the hang of this EarthBoxing thang.

After planting the tomatoes and jalapenos, I had to race off to my eldest son’s baseball game. No time for pics even. While at the ballpark, I felt a marked dip in the temperature. I didn’t have a jacket and it got downright chilly. Driving home, I heard on the radio it’s supposed to get down into the 30s tonight.

Oh, now, that’s just lovely.

frost covers for plants

Brrrr! Warm dreams, Bébés.

To Mother Earth,

Leave a Reply

