Drinking & Staking: Just Say NO

Apparently, the elation of Oakstone’s victory at the cook-off, coupled with the excitement of my successful and tasty first batch of home-brew, prompted me to have one too many West Coast Pale Ales?!

Case in point, staking system number two — the one on the left. 😦

EarthBox Staking Systems

The Left Is Wrong, The Right Is Right

I take this personally and hold only myself accountable. Jake bailed on helping me for the evening before I added the netting to the second one. I have only myself to blame. For the life of me, I couldn’t get the netting to fit. It’s like it didn’t stretch all the way across! The netting is rectangular in shape so there’s only one way it can go.

So, I asked Jake, “What did we do on the first one that I didn’t do on the second one?!”

He said, rather glibly, “You didn’t start it right.”

“Jake, there was nothing I could do. It didn’t fit.”

He scoffed, “Yeah! Because you didn’t start it right!”

Uh huhhh…. Whatever. I surely did enjoy those West Coast Pale Ales. Oh, and that reminds me… HeatherJ, I’m going to post about the process for your brother-in-law. I thank you for your interest!!

It’s a beautiful day so we decide to walk over to the office to see if the replacement for the “dead” grape has arrived yet, and then hit some tennis balls.  That will cheer me up. I cannot be deterred by a little faulty netting — although self-doubt is trying to creep its way into the corners of my psyche. I know I gave it my all last night. That netting didn’t fit!

We stop to appreciate the sunlight cast across the lily pads in the fish pond next to the office and all of its surrounding beauty.

lily pads on the fish pond

Lily Pads On An Ornamental Fish Pond
Birmingham, AL

Anyway, I know it’s Sunday, but I’m hoping there may be someone different in the office who can locate the replacement grape from Gurney’s. There is. According to the pink slip in my mailbox, it was delivered via USPS on Friday and was left with the office manager. However, when this new person looks, she can’t find it either. She said that she accepted the packages Friday, but doesn’t remember one for me. She advised checking back tomorrow. Another strike. Okie dokie then.

Hitting tennis balls with Jake was great, and always as I hoped it would progress. We can actually have a rally now! Before I know it, he’ll be acing me on his serve, little bugger. It’s amazing how quickly little boys become big boys, and how much we love ’em along the way.

So, at the end of the day, I feel better about the staking system. In the grand scheme of things, it’s really not that important.

To Mother Earth,

Heather's Homegrown Signature

Leave a Reply

